Anabelle Lacroix - Fondation FIMINCO

Anabelle Lacroix

Curator in residence at Fondation Fiminco.

About Anabelle Lacroix

Anabelle Lacroix is a Franco-Australian independent curator and art critic. Having completed a bachelor’s degree in history of art and anthropology at Paris-Nanterre university, she received a master’s in research of contemporary art history, as an exchange student, at University College London (2009) and also a master’s in curating at Stockholm university (2011). She has worked at the Australian Centre for Contemporary Art (ACCA) in Melbourne as the Curator Public Programs, where she organised conferences, workshops and performances. She also initiated Writing in the Expanded Field, a programme covering art criticism today.

After ten years abroad, Anabelle Lacroix decided to settle in Paris in 2019. That same year, she won a residency and exhibition project for the 30 years of theArchives de la Critique d’Art in Rennes, in partnership with the C-E-A (Association française des commissairesd’exposition / French association of curators). In 2018, she co-edited An Act of Showing: rethinking Artist-Run Initiatives through place (with Maria Miranda, published by Unlikely). She has curated about fifteen exhibitions in Melbourne, in Stockholm at the Natural History Museum, as well as performance programmes in Australia, New Zealand and Taiwan where she was in residency at the Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts, in Taipei in 2016.

In 2020 she was in residence at ZK/U Zentrum für Kunstund Urbanistik – Centre for Art and Urban Planning in Berlin, and she is also associate curator of Liquid Architecture, an Australian independent art space, which studies sound and listening, where she worked between 2014 and 2017. Anabelle Lacroix is particularly interested in experimental forms involving performance, sound, speech and publishing. She favours partnerships, listening and the decompartmentalization of artistic practices.

FREEDOM OF SLEEP

During her 11-month residency, Anabelle Lacroix will develop an interdisciplinary project on the theme of the “desynchronization” of body and society. She wants to explore the theme of night and insomnia as a form of dissidence, a time for identity transformation, awakening and action. Facing a mechanical daily routine, the night can be considered as a time of freedom, protest or philosophical awakening. However, for many people, sleeping disorders are connected to stress, anxiety and time spent in front of screens, effects of so-called “cognitive” capitalism. Her project, designed in several series, will take the form of exhibitions, performances, screenings and a cultural programme with workshops and debates.

Discover the website dedicated to the project.

 

Selection of exhibitions

Félicia Atkinson, Stick and Stone, BLINDSIDE, 02–19 Aug 2017, Melbourne, Australia. Photo credit: Keelan O'Hehir.

Gesture Manifest, BLINDSIDE, performer: Shelley Lasica, 20 July - 30 July 2016, Melbourne, Australia. Photo credit: Keelan O'Hehir.

La Puce à l'Oreille, 15 November – 16 January 2020, Galerie Art et Essai, Rennes, France. Exhibition in partnership with Archives de la critique d’art and C-E-A (Association française des commissaires d’exposition).

La Puce à l'Oreille, 15 November – 16 January 2020, Galerie Art et Essai, Rennes, France. Exhibition in partnership with Archives de la critique d’art and C-E-A (Association française des commissaires d’exposition).

Katja Aglert, The breath between the rustle of dead leaves and the shadow of a tale, Biologiska Museet, Jan 30 - Feb 31 2016, Stockholm, Sweden. Photo credit: Katja Aglert.

Follow Anabelle Lacroix

Anabelle Lacroix - Fondation FIMINCO

Anabelle Lacroix

Commissaire d’exposition en résidence à la Fondation Fiminco.

À propos d'Anabelle Lacroix

Anabelle Lacroix est une commissaire d’exposition indépendante et critique d’art franco-australienne. À la suite d’une licence en histoire de l’art et anthropologie à l’université Paris-Nanterre, elle a obtenu un master de recherche en histoire de l’art contemporain en échange à the University College London (2009) ainsi qu’un master en commissariat d’exposition à l’université de Stockholm (2011). Elle a travaillé à l’Australian Centre for Contemporary Art (ACCA) à Melbourne en tant que « Curator Public Programs » (chargée de programmation culturelle) : elle y organisait des conférences, des workshops, des performances et a initié Writing in the Expanded Field, un programme parcourant la critique d’art aujourd’hui.

Après dix années passées à l’étranger, Anabelle Lacroix décide de s’installer à Paris en 2019. Cette même année, elle est lauréate d’un projet de résidence et d’exposition pour les 30 ans des Archives de la Critique d’Art à Rennes, en partenariat avec C-E-A (Association française des commissaires d’exposition). En 2018, elle a co-édité An Act of Showing: rethinking Artist-Run Initiatives through place (avec Maria Miranda, publié par Unlikely). Elle a organisé une quinzaine d’expositions à Melbourne, au Musée d’Histoire Naturelle à Stockholm, ainsi que des programmes de performances en Australie, en Nouvelle-Zélande et à Taïwan où elle était en résidence au Kuandu Museum of Fine Arts, à Taipei en 2016.

Début 2020, elle réalise une résidence à ZK/U Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik – Centre d’art et d’urbanisme de Berlin tout en étant commissaire associée de Liquid Architecture, un centre d’art indépendant australien portant sur le son et l’écoute, où elle a travaillé de 2014 à 2017. Anabelle Lacroix porte un intérêt particulier pour les formes expérimentales qui invoquent la performance, le son, le discours et l’édition. Elle privilégie la collaboration, l’écoute et le décloisonnement des pratiques artistiques.

À TEMPS ET À CONTRE-TEMPS

Anabelle Lacroix développera durant ses 11 mois de résidence un projet interdisciplinaire sur le thème de la « désynchronisation » du corps et de la société. Elle souhaite explorer le thème de la nuit et de l’insomnie comme une forme de dissidence, un temps de transformation identitaire, d’éveil et d’action. Face au quotidien mécanique, la nuit peut être perçue comme un temps de liberté, de contestation ou un éveil philosophique. Or, pour beaucoup, les troubles du sommeil sont liés au stress, à l’anxiété et au temps passé sur les écrans, effets du capitalisme dit « cognitif ». Le projet conçu en plusieurs grands cycles prendra la forme d’expositions, de performances, de projections et d’une programmation culturelle avec workshops et débats.

Sélection d'expositions

La Puce à l'Oreille, 15 November – 16 January 2020, Galerie Art et Essai, Rennes, France. Exposition en partenariat avec les Archives des la critique d’art et C-E-A (Association française des commissaires d’exposition).

La Puce à l'Oreille, 15 November – 16 January 2020, Galerie Art et Essai, Rennes, France. Exposition en partenariat avec les Archives des la critique d’art et C-E-A (Association française des commissaires d’exposition).

La Puce à l'Oreille, 15 November – 16 January 2020, Galerie Art et Essai, Rennes, France. Exposition en partenariat avec les Archives des la critique d’art et C-E-A (Association française des commissaires d’exposition).

La Puce à l'Oreille, 15 November – 16 January 2020, Galerie Art et Essai, Rennes, France. Exposition en partenariat avec les Archives des la critique d’art et C-E-A (Association française des commissaires d’exposition).

La Puce à l'Oreille, 15 November – 16 January 2020, Galerie Art et Essai, Rennes, France. Exposition en partenariat avec les Archives des la critique d’art et C-E-A (Association française des commissaires d’exposition).

Suivre Anabelle Lacroix