Russell Perkins - Fondation Fiminco

Russell Perkins

Residency S+T+ARTS – Science, Technology & the Arts

About Russell Perkins

Russell Perkins is an American artist, working across media and often collaboratively. Recent projects consider how risk and precarity register on individual bodies, and were made together with forensic scientists, professional poker players, a biochemical reagent manufacturer, and singers specializing in extended vocal techniques. As a 2018-2019 Queer|Art Fellow, Russell developed a site-specific work for New York’s LGBT Center with artist Nancy Brooks Brody. Recent and upcoming shows include Ordinary Time at OCDChinatown, and Omniscient: Queer Documentation in an Image Culture, at the Leslie-Lohman Museum. He received an MA in philosophy from the University of Oxford, where he was a Rhodes Scholar, and an MFA from Hunter College in 2018. While at Hunter, he was Lazarus Curatorial Fellow at The Artist’s Institute, and conducted research in the archives of architect Lina Bo Bardi in São Paulo, Brazil with support from an Evelyn Kranes Kossak Grant.

Russell Perkins is the winner of the artist residency launched by the European S+T+ARTS programme, in partnership with the Fondation Fiminco, and the research laboratory Sony CSL Paris. The residency aims to foster dialogue between the two creative forces of science and art, and has as its theme: “Urban Mobility: Exploring new imaginaries”.

For 5 months, the artist will develop a project entitled “The Future Tense”, in which he aspires to create connections between the dynamics of a musical composition and that of the mobility of bodies and objects in the city. The artist questions how our movements can create harmony, tension and dissonance.

Russell Perkins will thus work in close collaboration with researchers from the Sony laboratory, in particular the teams working on the themes of Creativity, Artificial Intelligence and Music.

 

Russell Perkins, Card Players, 2018, two-channel video, 18:48 minutes.

Russell Perkins, Prosthetic Hand Movie, 2017, single-channel digital video, 6 minutes.

Russell Perkins, Monday 22 July, 2019, offset print on tinted newsprint, variable dimensions.

Russell Perkins, 2:28, 2020, chromogenic print, 40 x 51 cm.

Follow the artist

Russell Perkins - Fondation Fiminco

Russell Perkins

Résidence S+T+ARTS – Science + Technologie + Arts

À propos de Russell Perkins

Russell Perkins est un artiste américain. Dans son travail, l’artiste s’exprime à travers plusieurs médiums et travaille de manière collaborative. Ses projets récents portent sur la façon dont le risque et la précarité ont un impact sur le corps, ils ont été réalisés en collaboration avec des scientifiques légistes, des joueurs de poker professionnels, un fabricant de réactifs biochimiques et des chanteurs spécialisés en techniques vocales. En tant que Queer|Art Fellow 2018-2019, Russell a développé un travail spécifique pour le Centre LGBT de New York avec l’artiste Nancy Brooks Brody. Parmi ses spectacles récents et à venir nous pouvons citer : Ordinary Time à l’OCDChinatown et Omniscient : Queer Documentation in an Image Culture, au musée Leslie-Lohman. Il a obtenu une maîtrise en philosophie à l’université d’Oxford, où il a été boursier Rhodes, et un MFA – Master en Arts Visuels au Hunter College en 2018. Lorsqu’il étudiait au Hunter College, il a été Lazarus Curatorial Fellow – artiste chercheur au sein de The Artist’s Institute et a mené une recherche au sein des archives de l’architecte Lina Bo Bardi à São Paulo, au Brésil, grâce à la bourse Evelyn Kranes Kossak.

Russell Perkins est lauréat de la résidence d’artiste lancée par le programme européen S+T+ARTS, en partenariat avec la Fondation Fiminco et le laboratoire de recherche Sony CSL Paris. Cette résidence tient à favoriser le dialogue entre les deux forces créatives que sont les sciences et les arts, et a pour thématique : « Mobilité urbaine : explorer de nouveaux imaginaires ».

Pendant 5 mois, l’artiste développera un projet intitulé « The Future Tense », dans lequel il aspire à créer des connexions entre la dynamique d’une composition musicale et celle de la mobilité des corps et des objets dans la ville. L’artiste interroge la manière dont nos déplacements peuvent créer des harmonies, des tensions, ou encore des dissonances.

Russell Perkins travaillera ainsi en étroite collaboration avec les chercheurs du laboratoire Sony, notamment les équipes travaillant sur les thématiques Créativité, Intelligence Artificielle et Musique.

 

Russell Perkins, Card Players, 2018, deux vidéos, 18:48 minutes.

Russell Perkins, Prosthetic Hand Movie, 2017, vidéo, 6 minutes.

Russell Perkins, Monday 22 July,, 2019, impression offset sur papier journal teinté, dimensions variables.

Russell Perkins, 2:28, 2020, impression chromogène, 40 x 51 cm.

Suivre l'artiste